EFInA Financial Inclusion Awards

EFInA created the Financial Inclusion Awards to celebrate organisations that have made a significant contribution to financial inclusion in Nigeria.

The inaugural Financial Inclusion Awards were launched in 2014. EFInA publicised awards across four categories and invited organisations to submit applications based on their demonstrated success related to financial inclusion. The awards were keenly contested across all categories, with many strong applications received. EFInA engaged an independent panel of experts to review the applications and identify winners in each category, based on an objective scorecard.

EFInA would like to thank all applicants for the effort put into their applications, and applaud them for the many accomplishments they reported. The 2014 award winners in each category were:

Award 1:  Financial services provider that has deepened financial inclusion

This award celebrates an organisation that has enhanced access to financial services for Nigerians, especially the low income population, and acts as a leader in promoting financial inclusion in Nigeria. Given the breadth of this category, winners were identified in two sub-categories: Microfinance Bank and Deposit Money Bank.

  • Award Winner – Microfinance Bank:  ACCION Microfinance Bank
  • Award Winner – Deposit Money Bank:  GT Bank

Award 2:  Best mobile money operator

This award recognises a leading mobile money operator that is making impact that has significantly driven the uptake of mobile money in Nigeria.

  • Award Winner:  Pridar Systems Limited (“Firstmonie”)

Award 3: Regulator that has championed financial inclusion

This award celebrates a regulator that has made a significant contribution to advancing and deepening financial inclusion in Nigeria. 

  • Award Winner:  Central Bank of Nigeria

Award 4:  Best research firm

This award recognises a research firm that has demonstrated innovative and advanced methods for collecting and analysing data that enhances knowledge and deepens financial inclusion in Nigeria. 

  • Award Winner:  Nielsen Nigeria

Click here to learn more about each award category